• Requiem de Cherubini et Plantade
    Requiem de Cherubini et Plantade
  • Requiem de Cherubini et Plantade à l'Arsenal
    Requiem de Cherubini et Plantade à l'Arsenal

Friday 25 Januray 2019, 7pm30
Barbican Centre London

Saturday 26 January 2019, 7pm
Chapelle royal du Château de Versailles (Tristia by Berlioz excerpt only)

Concert program

Charles-Henri Plantade
Requiem in D minor, in memory of Marie-Antoinette (1823)

Hector Berlioz
Tristia (1831/1849)


Luigi Cherubini
Requiem in C minor, in memory of Louis XVI (1817)

Le Concert Spirituel, choir and orchestra
Hervé Niquet, conductor

1h30 with intermission

Production Palazzetto Bru Zane
Released by Alpha Classics

For Louis XVI and Marie-Antoinette

If France wrote its history with the wire of the conquests of its kings, emperors and presidents, it was also prompt to mythify their forfeitures, that they were repudiated, imprisoned, guillotined or exiled.

The Monarchy restored in 1815 by Louis XVIII thus multiplies the ceremonies in honour of Louis XVI and Marie-Antoinette. Their bodies were repatriated in 1815 to the necropolis of the kings of France, restored for the occasion in the heart of the basilica of Saint-Denis. In 1816, the Court witnessed in situ the performance of Cherubini's Requiem in C minor in memory of the late king, while the thirtieth anniversary of Marie-Antoinette's death (1823) was seized to play Charles-Henri Plantade's Requiem in D minor. 

From Plantade to Cherubini, the common point of the pieces gathered in this program is the search for a sober and hieratic monumental style. To create a perfume of grandeur and eternity, all virtuosity is banished. Neither Plantade's Requiem nor Cherubini's Requiem involve soloists. The acoustics of the places of worship of the Court (Tuileries chapel, Saint-Denis basilica or Notre-Dame cathedral) undoubtedly guided certain choices of orchestral colours and a moderate harmonic rhythm which avoids confusion and dissonance. 
These funeral musics have almost all remained in the state of unpublished scores. They now lie in the collections of the Bibliothèque nationale de France.

(Alexandre Dratwicki)

Teaser Alpha Classics